Startseite
 International

International ÖKOBAUDAT activities

The life cycle assessment of buildings can not be considered limited to the national level. The method is internationally recognized and standardized; In many EU Member States, EPD programmes have been established in accordance with ISO 14025, which generate their EPDs compliant with EN 15804. For this reason, the ÖKOBAUDAT team is integrated in an international network. ÖKOBAUDAT is used worldwide for LCA of buildings. Selected examples for the use in building assessment systems are Green Building Council in Denmark and LENOZ by the Ministry of Housing in Luxembourg.

Among the accepted suppliers of EPD data are also EPD programme operators from abroad, such as the Austrian Bau EPD GmbH, other European EPD programme operators are currently applying for recognition. With the European association of EPD programme operators, the ECO platform, ÖKOBAUDAT has been exchanging information and rules since its establishment.

An important aspect for the BBSR as operator of the ÖKOBAUDAT is the international harmonisation and standardisation. Therefore, delegates represent the BBSR in all major standardization committees, such as CEN / TC 350 Sustainability of construction works, Mastermind of EN 15804 Product Category Rules for Construction Products, or ISO / TC59 / SC17, which develops a standard for the application of Environmental Product Declarations in Building Information Modeling (ISO / WD 22057 Enabling use of Environmental Product Declarations (EPD) at construction works level using building information modeling (BIM)). Research results regarding data format and method have been regularly exchanged with the Joint Research Center.

Internationalisation is being driven forward by commissioning research projects:

  • 2016: ÖKOBAUDAT and Europe (SWD - 10.08.17.7-15.25c)
  • 2017: ÖKOBAUDAT and Europe II (SWD - 10.08.17.7-16.42)
  • 2018: International networking of Ökobaudat (SWD - 10.08.17.7-17.30)

Research results around the ÖKOBAUDAT are regularly presented at scientific conferences in Germany and abroad, e.g. at the SBE16 Conference Hamburg, the WSBE 2017 in Hong Kong or the LCM Conference 2017 in Luxembourg. The ÖKOBAUDAT presentation in Barcelona 2014 finally led to the founding of WG InData, the International Open Data Network for Sustainable Building, initiated by BBSR.

To support international cooperation, all website content is also available in English. Since 2018 the generic datasets are fully available in English.

International data search

In the research project "ÖKOBAUDAT and Europe II" an international networking of EPD databases with distributed search function was demonstrated.

This screencast shows how multiple database nodes (such as the ÖKOBAUDAT), which are operated by independent data providers, can be used to form a data network. On such a network, a distributed search can be initiated that will retrieve matching results from all the member nodes.
The screencast was developed within the project "ÖKOBAUDAT and Europe II", as well as the bilingual sample data and the demonstration network with three demo nodes. The shown functionality is foreseen to be used to build the international data network which is planned by the InData Working Group.

Startseite
 International

Internationale Aktivitäten von ÖKOBAUDAT

Das Thema Ökobilanzierung von Bauwerken kann nicht auf die nationale Ebene beschränkt betrachtet werden. Die Methode ist international anerkannt und genormt; in vielen EU-Mitgliedstaaten wurden EPD-Programme gemäß ISO 14025 begründet, welche ihre EPDs konform zur EN 15804 erstellen. Aus diesem Grund ist das ÖKOBAUDAT-Team in ein internationales Netzwerk eingebunden. So wird die ÖKOBAUDAT weltweit für Ökobilanzierungen von Gebäuden eingesetzt. Ausgewählte Beispiele für die Anwendung in Gebäudebewertungssystemen sind Green Building Council in Dänemark und LESOSAI Luxemburg.

Unter den anerkannten Lieferanten von EPD-Daten befinden sich mittlerweile auch EPD-Programmbetriebe aus dem Ausland wie die in Österreich ansässige Bau EPD GmbH, weitere europäische EPD-Programmbetriebe suchen derzeit um Anerkennung an. Mit dem europäischen Verband der EPD-Programmbetriebe, der ECO platform, steht ÖKOBAUDAT seit dessen Gründung im Austausch von Informationen und Regelwerken.

Ein wichtiger Aspekt für das BBSR als Betreiber der ÖKOBAUDAT ist die internationale Harmonisierung und Standardisierung. Das BBSR entsendet daher Delegierte in alle wichtigen Normenausschüsse wie zum Beispiel das CEN/TC 350 Nachhaltigkeit von Bauwerken, Mastermind der EN 15804 Produktkategorieregeln für Bauprodukte, oder das ISO/TC59/SC17, welches eine Norm zur Anwendung von Umweltproduktdeklarationen in Building information modelling (BIM) erarbeitet (ISO/WD 22057 Enabling use of Environmental Product Declarations (EPD) at construction works level using building information modelling (BIM)). Mit dem Joint Research Center wurden regelmäßig Forschungs­ergebnisse bezüglich Datenformat und Methode ausgetauscht.

Die Internationalisierung wird über die Vergabe von Forschungsprojekten gezielt vorangetrieben:

  • 2016: ÖKOBAUDAT und Europa (SWD - 10.08.17.7-15.25c)
  • 2017: ÖKOBAUDAT und Europa II (SWD - 10.08.17.7-16.42)
  • 2018: Internationale Vernetzung der Oekobaudat (SWD - 10.08.17.7-17.30)

Die Ergebnisse der Forschungsprojekte rund um die ÖKOBAUDAT werden regelmäßig auf wissenschaftlichen Konferenzen im In- und Ausland präsentiert, z.B. auf der SBE16 Conference Hamburg, der WSBE 2017 in Hongkong oder der LCM Conference 2017 in Luxemburg. Die ÖKOBAUDAT-Präsentation in Barcelona 2014 führte schließlich zu der vom BBSR initiierten Gründung der WG InData, des Internationalen Ökobilanzdaten-Netzwerks für Nachhaltiges Bauen.

Zur Unterstützung der internationalen Zusammenarbeit sind alle Website-Inhalte auch auf Englisch verfügbar. Seit 2018 gibt es die generischen Datensätze nun auch vollständig in Englisch.

Internationale Datensuche

Im Forschungsprojekt "ÖKOBAUDAT und Europa II" wurde eine internationale Vernetzung von EPD-Datenbanken mit verteilter Suchfunktion demonstriert.

In diesem Screencast wird gezeigt, wie mehrere, von unabhängigen Organisationen betriebene, Datenbankknoten (von denen die ÖKOBAUDAT einer ist) zu einem Datennetzwerk zusammengeschaltet werden können. In einem solchen Netzwerk kann eine verteilte Suche durchgeführt werden, die passende Resultate von allen teilnehmenden Knoten anfordert und in einer gemeinsamen Trefferliste ausgibt.
Der Screencast wurde - ebenso wie die bilingualen Beispieldaten und die Demonstrationsumgebung mit den drei Demo-Knoten - im Rahmen des Forschungsprojekts "ÖKOBAUDAT und Europa II" erstellt. Die hier gezeigte Funktionalität soll genutzt werden, um das im Rahmen der InData-Aktivitäten geplante internationale Datennetzwerk zu realisieren.